The Last RunDarenRun Update

img_2910_web

Last month marked the end of 2.5 years of training and a total (with training) of 6,703 miles run. I have been waiting to send this update because I wanted to gather the numbers before I reported to all of my supporters.

The question I get most often nowadays is “How are you feeling?” My answer, though a surprise to some, is “I feel great!” I am still recovering physically, but I feel great because God answered the prayers that Danielle and I, as well as many others, have been praying for years. They have not just been answered, but exceeded. What we thought was a big, audacious goal of $100,000 to serve 2,500 people in Ethiopia with water for a lifetime was met with 28 days left in the run. With this goal being the primary focus of all the training and hard work, I couldn’t be more excited to announce that through the generosity of you and many others we have raised a total of $144,131.32, serving 3,600 people with water for a lifetime in Ethiopia!  This was raised through 1,089 different donors! Incredible!

I couldn’t be more thankful for all of you who prayed and gave financially to the mission of Activewater in honor of the RunDarenRun Campaign.

So what’s next? Right now Danielle and I are looking for a home in Canton, OH where I will continue my work with Activewater and partnering with athletes to end the water crisis. Please consider becoming part of Team Activewater in your next athletic event! We would love to have you as part of the team!  You can reach me at Daren@Activewater.org.

Take care and God Bless,

Daren Wendell

More News:

New York Times

BBC

Runner’s World

Men’s Journal

KTLA

People 

Leave a Reply

